Please wait while JT SlideShow is loading images...
Sri Lankan Air LinesThe Web design company

Expatriates Sports Club - Annual General Meeting & Award Ceremony - 2010

There are no images in the gallery.
A sense of history pervaded the recent Annual General Meeting & The Award Ceremony of the Expatriates Sports Club, “The” Expatriates Community organization in Middlesex that not only has steadily placed itself as an umbrella of the Sri Lankan Expatriates Community, but also for All Expatriates who’s primary objective is the Development of Sports.
The XSC AGM & Award Ceremony 2010 took place in Southall, Middlesex, on Saturday the 11th of December, 2010, Mr. P.M. Amza, a career diplomat and the acting High commissioner of Sri Lanka being the Chief guest, with some of the Top Community Sports Organizers and well over 250 XSC Members and Well wishers in attendance.


The Turnout and participation of all who attended the AGM was highly constructive and affirmative of XSC’S ethos of decentralized decision making. Once again, The Value of member activism was re inforced as Irfan Iqbal, The chairman addressing the meeting supported by the GB Officials Viraj Rajapaksha ( Secretary) and Shakeer Nawas ( CTO) .
The appointment of the Sports Committee was a highlight of the AGM and received overwhelming support of the XSC Members.
New Appointments are as follows:
  • Srirangan Balakumar ( CCO, Sports Committee )
  • Rohan Thangavelu ( DCO, Sports Committee )
  • Janakan Nadarajah ( SC Treasurer)
  • Kusal Kulasinghe ( CCO – Colts )
  • Shihan Dangalla ( DCO – Colts )
  • Siyan Ahmed ( Colts Development Officer )
  • Srirangan Balakumr ( Captain, XSC Greens )
  • Kumaran Sivathas ( V.Captain, XSC Greens )

The Award Ceremony

The Events Committee is delighted to have witnessed the Most awaited Grand Day of the Year has satisfied every aspects as possible as well as completed professionally.
Witnessed by Number of Distinguished Guests including the DHC Mr. P.M. Amza, Mrs. Sue Gallagher ( Secretary, Middlesex Championship League) , Mr. John Ward ( Chairman of the Disciplinary Committee, Middlesex Championship League), Mr. Upali (Chairman, Sri Lankan Football Association UK ), Mr. Ranjith Katuwana (Secretary, Sri Lankan Football Association UK) Mr. Azahim (Chairman, FOC) and Mr. Thavamuruganathan ( Tharani Jewellers – Wembley ), it was yet another Evening that will be remembered forever by everyone.
Mixed with Club Member’s Talent shows and Entertainments, The Committee’s effort was seen as a definite success witnessing the speed and arrangements that managed Five Champions Teams as well as a huge number of Individual Awards that was presented.
The 2010 Main Award Winners
Best Bowlers :
Irfan Iqbal ( XSC Blues ) , Viraj Rajapaksha (XSC Whites), Janakan Nadarajah (XSC Reds), Kumaran Sivathas (XSC Maroons), Umeshan Tharmalingam (XSC Browns)
Best Batsmen:
Pubudu Jayasekara (XSC Blues), Shekar Kulasekaram (XSC Reds), Lakshitha Premachandra (XSC Whites), Tejas Pathak (XSC Browns), Shamlan Kalam (XSC Maroons)
Best Allrounders:
Irshan Iqbal (XSC Blues / Reds / Whites ) , Shamlan Kalam (XSC Maroons), Sujeethan Thambirajah (XSC Browns)
2010 Centurion(s): Irshan Iqbal, 106 Vs DCS CC [ MPCL ]
5 Wicket Haul: Viraj Rajapaksha (XSC Blues), Shamlan Kalam(XSC Reds)
XSC Footballer of the Year : Harry Vaughan
Knights of the XSC: In Appreciation of the Service and Support.
Chairman’s Special Award for Outstanding Performance : Pubudu Jayasekara (XSC Blues)
Player of the Year : Irshan Iqbal
LIVE Music & Dance
XSC Member Performance on the night was yet another highlight of the Show. Starting with a Fantastic Michael Jackson Replica from Suren Reginold, Continued by a superb Melody composed by Irfan, sang by Sanjoban, A Contemporary Dance by “406 Boys” Shekar Kulasekaram & Jeya Parasad, Yet again the very first LIVE Performance of the Club Song ( Vocals: Imran, Jeya Prasad, Sanjoban, Irfan ), all went very well to prove the Integration that is in place within the XSC Community.
Undoubtedly, the memories of the event will live for ever in our memories – An opinion shared by Every XSC Members and Distinguished Guests.
We are delighted to see the boys understand where the club stands in terms of our status in the community, We’ll continue, Thanks to all – Says the Members of the Governing Body.
The Talent
Release of the XSC Annual Souvenir, The Talent became a special attraction. Grown larger than last year, the Book itself speaks to it’s place in the community.
Thanks to the Events & Social Committee An overall success in every little aspect, A Wonderful Saturday Evening stole everyone’s heart and the memory will remain for ever.
XSC Events & Social Committee 2010/2011
Shekar Kulasekaram – CCO
Mohanathas Balasubramaniam – DCO
MHM Haleem
Kumaran Sivathas
Shamlan Kalam
Shihan Dangalla
Kusal Kulasinghe
Irshan Iqbal
Comments (1)Add Comment
written by annoymus, December 18, 2010
Did anyone notice that its all the same names over and over again. Wonder how many members in this club?? Great exaggeration.

Write comment
smaller | bigger